46th Filmfare Award - By Viral Bhayani
KAHO NA PYAR HAI Grabs 9 Awards at the 46th Filmfare Awards
By Viral Bhayani from Mumbai

The show kick started by the man who is most popularly know for his track "Didi" the Algerian singer Khaled belted out two of his hottest numbers. Not exactly a great live performer as he manage to shake his legs a bit while the skimpily clad dancers danced to his beat. While stars are known for coming late perhaps it is a long-standing tradition in Bollywood where they usually show their faces late. But there were the early ones spotted like Mana Shetty grabbed the best seat in the front-row to check her hubby do the live act while we also spotted Ms. World Aditi Gowitrikar grabbing the first seats at the venue. Immediately after Khaled's performance there was a spectacular acrobatic performance by Mongolian acrobats followed by the Technical Awards. The hosts for the show were the awesome MTV's agony aunt Malaika Arora and the crazy Javed Jafrrey, who was on his toes all the time with his cheesy one-liners and mimicry which had the crowd entertained all the time. Well the clear cut winners for this year was Kaho Naa Pyaar Hai, which managed to get the maximum number of awards. Best Film, Best Director (Rakesh Roshan), Best Actor (Hrithik Roshan), Best Music Director (Rajesh Roshan), Best Male Newcomer (Hrithik Roshan), Best Screenplay (Ravi Kapoor and Honey Irani), Best Editing (Ravi Verma), Best Choreography (Farah Khan) and the lucky one -- Lucky Ali got the Best Male Playback singer. Hrithik surely had all the attention all the time. As the TV cameras kept rolling over him often. Hrithik also got a huge applaud when he went up the stage to receive his award.

There were lot of live performances, some of them were very long and even though they were great and deserving  they got a bit boring sometimes. Juliana Chan, the magician from Vancouver had every eyeball captivated by her act including Shah Rukh who was highly impressed by her performance. Shah Rukh as usual gave a brilliant speech where he thanked Mr. Bachachan and his daughter. Like wise there were some heart-felt speeches like the one given by the highly talented Tabu who received the critics award for Best Actress for her rolke in Astitva. The other two critcs awards for Best Film went to Santosh Sivan for Hello and Shah Rukh Khan got the Best Actor for his role in Mohabbatein. The glamour girls Preity Zinta, Mahima Chaudhary and Aishwarya Rai gave brilliant live performances at the awards. Preity danced on the tunes like "Jiya Jale Jan Jale" (Dil Se), "Naiyon Naiyon" (Soldier) and "Bhumro" from Mission Kashmir. Mahima dance to the cowboy theme of the tracks of Pardes, Daag, Dhadkan and Khiladi 420. Aishwarya had a great appearance thanks to the state-of-the-art arrangements and the magnificent stage set designed by Nitin Desai. Ash regaled the crowd with the numbers from Dhai Akshar Prem Ke, Taal and the theme music of Mohabbatein. Also, there was Sunil Shetty who performed at India's very own Oscar at the 46th Filmfare Awards. One of the main attraction of the evening was Mr. Bachchans statue brought in from Madame Tussaud's by the British Tourist Authority. For the very first time in the history of Filmfare Awards, the tickets were not free but sold to collect funds for the Gujarat Earthquake victims. A total sum of Rs.25 lakhs was at the end presentation.


R.D.Burman Award - Sunidhi Chauhan
Special Jury Award - Anu Malik
Sony Best Scene Award - Mohabbatein
Lifetime Achievement Award - (Actor) Feroz Khan
Lifetime Achievement Award - (Singer) Asha Bhosle
Best Debut - Female - Kareena Kapoor (Refugee)
Best Debut - Male - Hrithik Roshan (Kaho Na Pyaar Hai)
Best Lyricist - Javed Akhtar (Panchi Nadiya - Refugee)
Best Choreographer - Farah Khan - Ek Pal Ka Jeena (Kaho Na..)
Best Music - Rajesh Roshan (Kaho Na...)
Best Singer - Male - Lucky Ali - Ek Pal Ka Jeena (Kaho Na...)
Best Singer - Female - Alka Yagnik - Dil Ne Yeh Kaha Hai Dil Se (Dhadkan)
Best Supporting Actor - Amitabh Bachchan for Mohabbatein
Best Supporting Actress - Jaya Bachchan for Fiza
Best Comedian - Paresh Rawal for Hera Pheri
Best Negative Role - Sunil Shetty for Dhadkan
Best Actor and Actress (critics award) Shah Rukh (Mohabbatein) and Tabu (Astitva)
Best Film - Kaho Naa.. Pyar Hai
Best Actress - Karisma Kapoor award given by Sunil Dutt
Best Actor - Hrithik Roshan award given by Sridevi

rtvad.gif (8153 bytes)

Travel deals in India.....

linkad1.gif (3839 bytes)